Blog Review: Neuroskeptic

The blog reviewed here is the ‘Neuroskeptic‘ blog. In the About section, we learn that the Neuroskeptic is a male neuroscientist in the Uk who describes the blog thus:-

A neuroscientist takes a skeptical look at his own field, and beyond

Appearance and Design

There is a dark/light blue striped background with a central white pane featuring the articles. The title pane lists the blog title in white font on a dark blue background. The articles are titled, dated, comment enabled, tagged and featuring an e-mail option as well as a research blogging icon. The blog can be navigated using the options on the right side of the central pane – chronological archived links and label links. There is an RSS subscription option and external links. Articles are generously and aesthetically illustrated and the overall site design is simple and effective.

Content

There are 250 articles at the time of writing. The Neuroskeptic typically reports on studies in an accessible and engaging style. Here are some of my favourites

Serotonin: Interesting evidence about the effects of a presumed absence of Serotonin from a Plos One paper.

Critiquing Neuroscience explanations: Looking at a study investigating perceptions of psychological and neuroscience explanations.

Voodoo Correlations: I’ve covered this elsewhere but this is part of a classic neuroscience blogosphere episode. I’ve missed of the updates but they’re well worth a look as well.

Ephebiphobia: Worth reading for the 6000 year old comment alone.

The Neuroscience of Niceness: Positive neuroscience.

Salmon fMRI: Reviewing a recent study by Bennett who reports on the fMRI findings in a dead salmon.

Placebo coffee: Self-explanatory.

No more interesting: Umm interesting to note that haven’t been as successful!

Armchair Neuropathologists: Sharing neuropathology data

More on Serotonin deficits.

How I Write. Tips on blogging.

New approach to analysing fMRI: New approach using overlapping areas of functional activation in groups of subjects.

Conclusions

The Neuroskeptic is a well established neuroscience blogger who as the title suggests, takes a skeptical view of the neuroscience research for the purposes of the blog and produces some very interesting engaging posts. The posts above are the ones I found interesting but there are a number of other categories which look at more controversial areas within (clinical) neuroscience and which initiate a lot of discussion. Well worth a look.

Call for Authors: If you are interested in writing an article or series of articles for this blog please write to the e-mail address below. Copyright can be retained. Index: An index of the site can be found here. The page contains links to all of the articles in the blog in chronological order. Twitter: You can follow ‘The Amazing World of Psychiatry’ Twitter by clicking on this link. Podcast: You can listen to this post on Odiogo by clicking on this link (there may be a small delay between publishing of the blog article and the availability of the podcast). It is available for a limited period. TAWOP Channel: You can follow the TAWOP Channel on YouTube by clicking on this link. Responses: If you have any comments, you can leave them below or alternatively e-mail justinmarley17@yahoo.co.uk. Disclaimer: The comments made here represent the opinions of the author and do not represent the profession or any body/organisation. The comments made here are not meant as a source of medical advice and those seeking medical advice are advised to consult with their own doctor. The author is not responsible for the contents of any external sites that are linked to in this blog.

21 thoughts on “Blog Review: Neuroskeptic

  1. Pingback: Your Holiday for Free if England Wins With Real Gap Experience’s Amazing World Cup Offer! | World Cup 2010

  2. Meggan Delsordo

    “Thanks for sharing these helpful data! Desire that you simply will carry on carrying out nice guide like this. I will probably be one in every of your loyal reader if you preserve this sort of submit!This is one of the best publish I identified so much. The contents are extremely good and really useful.I subscribed for your RSS feed by the way!Many thanks, this really is actually cool!”

    Like

  3. yeast hair loss

    Hi. I wanted to drop you a quick note to verbalize my thanks. I’ve been watching your blog for a month or so and have picked up a heap of good information as well as enjoyed the way you’ve structured your site. I am undertaking to run my own blog however I think its too general and I would like to focus more on smaller topics.

    Like

  4. Lisa Snowden

    Your site is like pie, they’re sweet and cute. I’ve just walking from every page to page until I met hot topic on this page. From first impression, I underestimate your topic ideas, but it’s my fault, sorry for thinking this (I said things i thought i believe). This is my bad behavior, sorry to listen to that. Even though it was my bad sign for future, but I realize that my mind can be used for other experimental research with you. Please observe that I write this comment based on true story, and you are the chosen someone to make this decision. I want you being my partner in desired subject, we can research as well as our skills, and also you obtain the advantage by getting new experience with me. Sorry for giving my invitation about this comment page, but when you don’t mind, you are able to produce your opinion about my comment, I’m thinking about developing your website as big site, to help you use it as the residual income.

    Like

  5. wpolscemamymocneseo

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a wonderful web site.

    Like

  6. fashion handbags wholesale

    Thats right! Excellent writing, continue to keep up the amazing work. This is actually the kind of information which will obtain recognition pertaining to its workmanship. Much more authors need to learn from you. This really is precisely on the money.

    Like

  7. How To MIG Weld

    I’ve glanced at numerous of your blog entries and I was thinking about if you wanted to swap website links? I am constantly wanting to swap links with websites on similar topics! I look forward to hearing back from you before long.

    Like

  8. Pingback: Blogs Reviewed To Date « The Amazing World of Psychiatry: A Psychiatry Blog

  9. Jarod Schouten

    All other bloggers should make note: this is what great articles look like! I cannot wait to read more of your writing! Not only is it thoughtful, but it is also well-written. If you would reply with a link to your newsletter, I would be very grateful!

    Like

  10. ancora defier

    I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours. It is lovely value enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you did, the net shall be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

  11. Pingback: isohunt download

Leave a Reply

